You are visiting - copyright © 2009 to 2017   All rights reserved                                                                                                       Home |  Terms of use  |  Datafiles  |  Contact us

Globalshift Limited -                                                                        is as up-to-date as possible but some information may not be the most recent available

Contact Us



Land area (sq kms)

Oil prod (000s b/d)

Gas prod (bcm/yr)

Oil cons (000s b/d)

Gas cons (bcm/yr)

More numbers Statistics






Aruba is an island territory in the southern Caribbean Sea in the Leeward Antilles island arc of the Lesser Antilles just 29 kms north of Venezuela. With Bonaire and Curacao, it forms a group known as the ABC islands. It is also 1 of 4 countries that form the Kingdom of the Netherlands (with the Netherlands, Curacao and Sint Maarten).

Aruba's first inhabitants were Caquetio Arawaks migrating from Venezuela to escape Caribs around 1000 AD. Spaniards colonized the populous island after it was discovered by Europeans in 1499. The Dutch took over in 1636 and administered it under the Dutch West India Company as part of the Netherlands Antilles. The UK took control from 1804 to 1816 before returning it to the Netherlands.

In 1947 the territory presented its first constitution and an independence referendum was held in 1977. In 1986 Aruba seceded from the Netherlands Antilles to became a country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands but in 1990 the country postponed indefinitely its planned transition to full independence.

With its dry climate tourism is important for its economy with aloe export and oil refining (closed since 2009) also providing revenue.

Aruba is a generally flat, riverless island. It is part of a Late Cretaceous island arc and consists of uplifted reef carbonates resting on basaltic oceanic crust. The island has a history of gold production dating back to the early 1800s.

Although so close to Venezuela its geology is not suitable for the generation and accumulation of commercial volumes of oil and gas. Thus Aruba has no identified indigenous oil or gas resources, either onshore or offshore, and Globalshift believes it is unlikely to achieve any production in the future.

However, because of its location near Venezuela, it became a refinery centre. A precursor company to Exxon opened the Lago refinery in 1929 and the Eagle Oil Refinery was opened soon after. Lago closed in 1985, was reopened in 1991, but closed again in 2009. The smaller Eagle closed in 1959.

Geography, and oil and gas summary

ARUBA - Map and National Flag

Low-Cost Spreadsheets

Buy Excel files - histories and forecasts of production and wells split into any category for all countries and regions

Datafiles Review files

E and P

News Briefs


Capital: Oranjestad

Population: 0.11 million     

As a constituent country of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Aruba has a 21-member Parliament and an 8-member Cabinet. The governor of Aruba is appointed for a 6-year term by the Dutch monarch. The prime minister and deputy prime minister are elected for 4-year terms.

The Compania Arubano di Petroleo is the NOC in Aruba responsible for licensing and regulation of the industry.


Rushes by a lake

Brief history of the territory (Netherlands)

Central America

Aruba Government and NOCs