You are visiting - copyright © 2009 to 2017   All rights reserved                                                                                                       Home |  Terms of use  |  Datafiles  |  Contact us

Globalshift Limited -                                                                        is as up-to-date as possible but some information may not be the most recent available

Contact Us



Land area (sq kms)

Oil prod (000s b/d)

Gas prod (bcm/yr)

Oil cons (000s b/d)

Gas cons (bcm/yr)

More numbers Statistics






The Cook Islands, in the South Pacific, lie northeast of New Zealand, between French Polynesia and American Samoa. There are 15 islands in 2 groups; the Southern (9 volcanic islands) and the Northern (6 volcanic-cored atolls).

The country was settled in the 6th century by Polynesian people who migrated from Tahiti. Spanish ships landed on the northern island of Rakahanga in 1606. Captain Cook arrived in 1773 and named them The Hervey Islands which were re-named the Cook Islands in the early 19th Century.

Theislands became a UK protectorate in 1888 (to keep out the French in Tahiti who were active in slaving) and were annexed as British territory in 1901, along with Niue, within the boundaries of the Colony of New Zealand.

In 1949, on New Zealand independence, the Cook Islanders gained New Zealand citizenship and the country became a dependent territory. In 1965 self-governing status was adopted although some aspects of government remain under New Zealand. Tourism is the country's main industry along with offshore banking, pearl fishing and fruit exports also important.

The Cook islands are summit portions of extinct volcanoes. The island of Rarotonga is the largest surrounded by an Exclusive Economic Zone covering 1.8 mm sq kms of ocean.

The northern group of islands is older and consists of 6 atolls, which are sunken volcanoes topped by coral growth. The southern group of 9 islands are also volcanic but with less reef material. They are a continuation of the Austral Islands chain of French Polynesia.

The Cook Islands have no identified indigenous oil or gas resources, either onshore or offshore. With a geology comprising volcanoes and reefs on oceanic basement, Globalshift believes that the islands are very unlikely to achieve any production in the future. No oil and gas exploration wells have ever been drilled.

Geography, and oil and gas summary

COOK ISLANDS - Map and National Flag

Low-Cost Spreadsheets

Buy Excel files - histories and forecasts of production and wells split into any category for all countries and regions

Datafiles Review files

E and P

News Briefs

Cook Islands

Capital: Avarua

Population: 0.02 million     

Executive power is exercised by the democratically elected government, with the Chief Minister as its head. There are councils on all of the inhabited islands. The government has an ‘associated state’ relationship with New Zealand and defence and foreign affairs are the responsibility of New Zealand

There is no department of government in the Cook Islands responsible for oil and gas resources.


The Pacific Ocean

Brief history of the country


Cook Islands Government and NOCs